Basic Laws Regarding Medical Marijuana in California

If you were charged with possessing, selling, transporting or cultivating marijuana, you generally will face pretty serious legal consequences that may lead to incarceration, heavy fines or probation.

These days, more and more people seek the protection of the Compassionate Use Act under the provisions of California’s Proposition 215. Back in 1996, the people of California voted and approved legal defense for individuals, who possess or cultivate medical marijuana. Most experienced defense attorneys are exploring the law, every new development and recent cases in order to help individuals, who are cultivating medicinal marijuana or those who transport it. Besides, lawyers also represent the pharmaceutical organizations that are able to provide medical marijuana for their clients.

Possessing, transporting or cultivating medicinal marijuana relates to the area of the law that is always going through new developments. Our qualified as well as experienced possession of marijuana defense attorneys approve the legal usage of medical marijuana. And therefore keep track of all the recent developments, opinions, views and considerations of the law enforcement agencies, courts and political figures, who are discussing transportation, cultivation as well as distribution of medical marijuana.

California Health and Safety Code 11357, which refers to possession of cannabis or marijuana, implies that any person, who has less than 28.5 grams of cannabis may be fined, but cannot be arrested in case the individual has proper ID. A citation that is similar to a traffic ticket will be issued and will ask the individual to appear in court. However, possessing more than the above-mentioned amount of marijuana can get you arrested and incarcerated in jail for up to 6 months.

Violation of California’s Health and Safety Code 11358 (cultivating, harvesting or processing cannabis) is considered a felony and could lead to a prison sentence for 3 years. Possessing marijuana for distribution is also a felony and can also result in up to 3 years of incarceration.

Transportation, trafficking, sales, furnishing or giving away marijuana is prohibited in line with the California’s Health and Safety Code 11360. Violating this law may result in incarceration for a term of up to 4 years. However, if there was less than 28,5 grams of marijuana, the offense is considered a misdemeanor and you will be able to get away with only a fine. Just as in case of possessing cannabis, if the amount of marijuana is less than 28.5 grams, the individual cannot be arrested if he or she will present proper identification.

The law offices of Criminal Specialists will always be ready to help individuals, who are looking for legal assistance that is related to medical marijuana. After the law was intercepted, thousands of people were able to defend their rights to transport, cultivate and provide medical cannabis for individuals in need. Medicinal marijuana collectives that offer cannabis to their patients can also count on proper legal representation by a qualified as well as experienced attorney in court. Regardless of what the charges may be, keep in mind that if you were using marijuana in medicinal purposes; do not hesitate to get in touch with a lawyer at the earliest opportunity.

Useful resources:
Established Proposition 215 Guidelines

Local Medical Marijuana Cultivation and Possession Guidelines

Call the Law Offices of Criminal Spcialists

Were You Arrested And Charged With a Crime?

Talk to a criminal lawyer now

CALL US NOW
(855) 858-2755
SEND AN EMAIL
Contact Form